4, 3, 2, 1 – Let’s Jam!

 

Nothing like a remake of an old classic.

 

4 girls. 3 matches. 2 rounds. 1 saimoe. and we’re done.

oh wait. gotta get through this first.

semifinals. this lineup has uncanny similarity to 2007 and 2009 versions.

Nagi was at this stage during her rookie year. So was Nodoka. Koromo replaces Mihoko. Azunyan in lieu of Yui. And the more you look at it, there are also shades of 2008 in here – the possible double Saki final, Fukuhara Kaori (Tsukasa and Koromo’s VA) getting a crack at it again, and Hayate back at the semifinals.

Anyway, let’s break down today’s matchup – Nagi vs. Koromo

It doesn’t get better than this for one of the most compelling Saimoe rivalries since Nanoha-Rozen Maiden. Unless of course Nagi and Nodoka both win their matches. But for now, let’s get to the one on deck first. Cross the bridge when we get there, etc.

Nagi reminds me of Rozen Maiden’s Shinku, and she may have surpassed the doll with her performance here. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – HnG’s ace without a doubt, is Nagi. At least in Saimoe. I’m always amazed by how she consistently performs. And in this tournament no one was able to get close to her, by far, in the elimination rounds. All her wins against foes tough and easy, have been routs. She made the otherwise stellar Mafuyu look weak in her latest encounter. And I can understand why. Hayate as a faction is on a mission – this might be their last legitimate chance, and Nagi looks to capitalize on that. And backed with Kugimiya Rie mojo, she looks poised to make it back to the Finals.

Standing on her way is Amae Koromo, who like Nagi, has been styling all tournament long. Just like last year, Koromo rolled into the Best Eight until she ran into Yui in the quarterfinals. But this year it was a bit different as she managed to conquer her quarterfinal woes. The way she took down Saten is particularly impressive. Perhaps, this year can get better for her even more? That’s why I’m having difficulty calling this match against Nagi. But in the end I’m gonna predict that Koromo’s gonna win this in a close fight.

 

5641 hours in MSPAINT

 

I say that Saki has the better motivation to go all the way because they don’t wanna choke like last year. Like Hayate, this too might be their last chance in a long while.  I’m also banking that Fukuhara Kaori VA’d characters tend to troll Nagi.

Other than that, I have a hard time auguring how this will end up. Majority of who I know are siding with Nagi on this one – however, I want to go against the grind this time, kick reason to the curb once more.   I just can’t help but believe in Koromo I perceived that Saten is one of the stronger characters in the Top Eight and considering how well Koromo handled her, I have a gut feeling she’s gonna beat Nagi. Anyway, I hope I’m right, because Koromo is my better pick here. But again, I’m also fine with Nagi. Tough match, but with four left in the draw, these hard choices are bound to show up eventually. Anyway it’s just a matter of having a good end or great end for me.

Lastly,  here’s the “new” match poster. But not really a novel idea or something because this is akin to what I used in last year’s championship match. I tried to come up with something different but I guess I got into that dreaded “block.” Still like this type of simplistic design though. And with that, I’m done for the day.

Good luck, good fight, and so forth.

4 thoughts on “4, 3, 2, 1 – Let’s Jam!

  1. mio_loves_ritsu October 12, 2010 / 3:04 pm

    koromo, i guess XD

  2. ssilverr October 12, 2010 / 10:14 pm

    I’ll want Nagi to win this one, I believe that she can pull this one off, it’s just a feeling though

  3. Micchi October 13, 2010 / 2:26 am

    I don’t think squid girl is an oracle. But I hope she is.

  4. ._. October 13, 2010 / 5:28 am

    koromo ~~~

Leave a Reply

