Twist of Fate

To Aru Kagaku no Railgun’s Saten Ruiko defeated Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha’s Fate Testarossa clinched the final slot as the Block Finals of Anime Saimoe Tournament 2010 concluded Tuesday. Railgun recovered from yesterday’s heartbreaking loss of Misaka Mikoto, as Saten rallied in the closing moments of her match after Fate took an early lead. Finishing third was Mayoi Neko Overrun’s Serizawa Fumino.

***

Block H Final
1st 748 votes | Saten Ruiko @ To Aru Kagaku no Railgun
2nd 709 votes | Fate Testarossa @ Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha The MOVIE 1st
3rd 140 votes | Serizawa Fumino @ Mayoi Neko Overrun!

So uh, updated with the supposed headline for yesterday. I wasn’t able to upload it on time because the main laptop I’m using went to retard mode. Anyway excuses aside, here are my late thoughts on Saten’s riveting win over Fate:

  • BRILIANT. Great comeback victory. I should have believed in Saten, because she was my pick on instinct, but ended up switching to Fate in the last minute. Oh well, at least she made it through. I thought Railgun as a faction would crumble after Biribiri’s heartbreaking loss, but they managed to pull it together in the end. Feels great to have a 5/8 chance of pulling of a good Saimoe ending.
  • As for Fate, her years of Saimoe futility continues. I’ve had her on my list as one of the best that have yet to win a Saimoe crown a year ago, and the curse continues. As for her fans, thankfully she’s not entirely empty-handed as far as moe tournaments are concerned, since she is the first winner of the ever growing ISML.

Yeah of course I have seen how the bracket came about, but I’m still thinking on how it will all wrap up in the end. Here were my initial thoughts yesterday as it came along-

  • “good bracket. not the best, but I’ll take it.”
  • “guaranteed two good ends in top 4”
  • “sure is 2007 all over again”
  • “fuck this Yamada paired with Azusa. the former has virtually NOCHANCE”
  • “I can see a Saten-Azusa final, interesting storyline” etc

So yeah, just put it out there, more coherent thoughts on the next post. Just put it out here for completion’s sake. Yeah. OCD kicking in again or something…

And yeah. Top Eight. Doesn’t this make you hnggggggggg? I know I did while making it 😀

2 thoughts on “Twist of Fate

  1. Katz October 5, 2010 / 3:59 pm

    Saten made into quarterfinal made my day!

  2. daze October 5, 2010 / 4:37 pm

    Fuck yeah saten-san!

Leave a Reply

