Angel Beat

Yamada Aoi worked her way to the Quarterfinals with a marvelous victory over Tachibana Kanade (Angel Beats!) in the Block Finals of Anime Saimoe Tournament 2010. Yamada was the first Saimoe rookie into the Top Eight this year after she held off a closing rush by Kanade. Finishing third was To Aru Kagaku no Railgun’s Tsukuyomi Komoe.

The finals for Block F will feature a three-way fight among three Saimoe neophytes: Bakemonogatari’s Senjougahara Hitagi, Seitokai no Ichizon’s Shiina Mafuyu, and Angel Beats!’ Yui.

***
Block E Final
1st 748 votes | Yamada Aoi @ Working!!
2nd 670 votes | Tachibana Kanade (Tenshi) @ Angel Beats!
3rd 62 votes | Tsukuyomi Komoe @ To Aru Kagaku no Railgun

So uhm yeah, I did not see it coming. Still, it gets sweeter because of that. YAMAKING! Queen of Block E, very much. I said yesterday that the deciding factor would probably be if 2ch thinks Kanade is of that much of a threat, and maybe she was for the voters to flock into Yamada. Or maybe the latter is really that strong. I don’t buy it yet, but if she’s gonna get the underdog treatment all the way then I don’t mind at all. As for Tenshi, there can only be one winner, and the Saimoe gods weren’t kind enough for a tie, so yeah.

Interestingly Yamada’s win also makes her the first rookie into the Top Eight after last year got a whopping 6 of 8 newcomers. Also, the 5 winners so far don thighhighs. So is this zettai ryouki’s year?

Proceeding to today’s match, no numbers for now because laziness and euphoria took over. Will catch up to that task later.I  think they’re all pretty even in strength although Mafuyu and Hitagi both have impressive wins under their belt, especially the former. As for Yui-nyan, I think she’s also strong too, but I just think the former two are stronger.

The interesting part of this match is that there will probably be no strategy in this one (except of course, lolfakes). It’ll likely end up a battle of raw strength. And with that I think a more solid faction like Bakemonogatari has the edge here although Hitagi is not the ace.  Also after Kurimu disappointed in her Block Final match, I find it hard to think that Mafuyu will also do the same. As for Yui, looks like AB has lost steam and it will probably be hard to regroup after the Kanade loss.

In the end I went with Hitagi as my pick and prediction. Not exactly rocket science or shit, but I might regret that because Mafuyu just has been trolling me as I keep underestimating her. But whatever, right now I’m just too thrilled with Yamada’s win, and just hoping the good times keep rolling.

3 thoughts on “Angel Beat

  1. HTC October 2, 2010 / 2:36 pm

    >Angel Beat

    Glorious headline. Very nice!

  2. Delta October 2, 2010 / 7:42 pm

    Eh, Yamada wasn’t my favorite in Working! (Poplar ;_;) but I guess I was sliding towards Kanade winning. Nevertheless, I’m okay with the result, if she can beat one of the top tiers in the next round, she has my support.

  3. ssilverr October 3, 2010 / 12:27 am

    Mafuyu has my support for this one

Leave a Reply

