Esper Antics

The much-favored To Aru Kagaku no Railgun combo of Misaka Mikoto and Saten Ruiko were taken to the limit by their less-heralded foes, but still pulled off close wins to advance to the Block Finals of Anime Saimoe Tournament 2010.

Mikoto barely won her match against Hidamari Sketch’s Miyako, having to rally from an early deficit to pull off a margin of victory of two votes. At a far third was Omamori Himari’s Shizuku.

On the other hand, Saten Ruiko nipped K-On!’s Kotobuki Tsumugi by a difference of nine votes to advance. Third place went to Kirishima Shouko (Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu).

***

Block G21
1st 662 votes | Misaka Mikoto @ To Aru Kagaku no Railgun
2nd 660 votes | Miyako @ Hidamari Sketch x ☆☆☆
3rd 82 votes | Shizuku @ Omamori Himari

Block H22
1st 657 votes | Saten Ruiko @ To Aru Kagaku no Railgun
2nd 648 votes | Kotobuki Tsumugi @ K-ON!!
3rd 100 votes | Kirishima Shouko @ Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu

Interesting ending. Too bad I couldn’t follow the match all the way until the end since I had stuff to do IRL. Well, the results of these two matches are certainly telling on what to expect from Saimoe from hereon. There’s much to be deduced, so let’s get to it.

I guess 2ch know what’s up now. Of course they are aware that Railgun will be something to beat, but I have to admire the coordination of the non-Railgun supporters since they almost pulled it off the impossible. Who would have thought that the combo of Saten and Mikoto would have almost been beaten by Miyako and Mugi, despite the former two posting up monster stats. One thing’s for sure, no one’s safe, and that’s gonna make it more exciting in the future.

So yeah a hand of applause to the valiant efforts of Miyako and Mugi (though I supported Saten), especially the former. I wasn’t really expecting anything from her since Mikoto is like one of the contenders to win it all.

Speaking of contenders, so what does this say about Railgun? Is Misaka not that strong as originally expected, struggling against a character from a series which is definitely no on equal terms with Railgun? Of note also is that this match again had less votes than Hisa-Maria and Nadeko-Yui, so yeah interesting revelations today. While Saten survived against Mugi this is the first time she was forced to work hard for a win. I guess in a different perspective, this is a wake-up call to Railgun that they won’t be cruising all tournament long. (granted that there were plenty of Saimoe blessings for them – combo votes, and most probably split vote benefit soon). I’m looking forward to the fallout of this match. Like the Uiharu-Hisa match, this might have shifted the gears of the tournament in an impactful direction.

And now for uh, preview? Well as of this writing, we’re 5 hours into the match, but I did originally predict Azusa and Fumino to win these two matches coming into game day.

The first one is particularly spicy because these are three contenders which are capable of winning a Block. Remember that both Momo and Azusa came particularly close last year, both making it to top sixteen. And Poplar is from the upstart Working!! faction that has already one representative in the Block Finals. Also Poplar only trailed Azusa by 7 votes in the prelim round. But many supervening events have happened since then, so who knows how much stronger/weaker each did get. Same with Momo.

In any case I am predicting Azusa to win this match. In my preseason preview I have handpicked her to be K-On!’s flagbearer, and looks like she’s up for the job. K-On! shoud be able to notch their first win in Round Two thanks to her efforts, but it would be something she would have to work for. I am expecting a high turnout today. It would be curious if it ended not matching up to Hisa-Maria bout considering the gravity of the match and star power involved. This factor would be something to consider later.

As for this one, uh, truth be told, will be the battle for the third wheel in the impending Fate-Saten showdown. Granted it hasn’t happen yet because I think Mikan has a legit chance to bring down Fate, but still, gotta be realistic. Well, this match, for what it’s worth is amusing since it’s an Itou Kanae mirror match, followed by another one since Saten waits in Round Three. I think Fumino gets this one since she’s the fresher Itou role, and Shugo Chara’s best moments have passed (last year).

As for my picks, supporting Poplar and Amu despite the inevitable. Oh well, it was good run while it lasted, and i don’t actually mind Azusa winning because i feel like i’ve recently been k-onverted. lol.

As important as today’s results might be, I am actually more concerned by the matches after today, but yeah, that’s for later.

6 thoughts on “Esper Antics

  1. nissannut September 25, 2010 / 1:12 am

    Awesome matches yesterday! I’m happy that Miya and Mugi were very close, but even happier to see Mikoto and Ruiko advance. Level 5 and Level 0 moving on!

    Today, I love Poplar, but I have to go with Azunyan. I hope it’s as competitive as yesterday’s matches. I really like Amu, but I had my Fumino was my helping of tsundere this summer. Going with Stray Cats’ beauty here.

    • nissannut September 25, 2010 / 1:12 am

      Err… I had my helping of tusndere this summer with Fumino… -_-‘

      • nissannut September 25, 2010 / 1:13 am

        Tsundere… 😦

    • frustra September 25, 2010 / 7:05 pm

      Yeah, it has to go down as one of the greatest Saimoe matches in the “modern era” (i plan to make a compilation of those epic matches in the future, by the way)

  2. Delta September 25, 2010 / 4:31 am

    If anyone out of Railgun is going to contend it’ll be Misaka and Saten. While most people like the show, the show’s characters weren’t anything to drive home over. Had Uiharu not been taken out early on I’d include her here too, but the fact Kuriko and Mii didn’t make it doesn’t bode well for the rest of Team Railgun.

    Funny you also share the same predictions and picks I do, mostly because I loved Poplar in Working! and even Amu in Shugo Chara! even though I skipped the latest series because live action wasn’t my thing. Still, I do like Azusa and Fumino so I won’t be too broken up if they win.

    Wouldn’t it be funny if they piled in all their votes for Ai in the last minute?

    • frustra September 25, 2010 / 7:04 pm

      Ai managed to win a match finally after six futile attempts. That’s gotta be one of the sweetest victories ever, and that’s enough for her, I guess.

      I’m not really into Fumino. Chise has to be my favorite MNO chara among the stray cats. lol.

      Railgun is strong. Kuroko and Mii managed to be one of the weaker ones, and Uiharu got upset by Hisa in an epic match. But the core of Saten and Mikoto are really contenders insofar as i am concerned, that’s why the rest of the voting bloc took the opportunity to try to take them out. And it almost succeeded.

Leave a Reply

