En Taro Kanade!

Tachibana Kanade from Angel Beats! survived a feisty challenge from 2006 semifinalist Nagato Yuki from Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu to earn a place in the Block Finals of Anime Saimoe Tournament 2010. Lisa from Seiken no Blacksmith was the third place finisher of the Block E match.

First to the Block F’s Block Finals was Seitokai no Ichizon’s Shiina Mafuyu, who followed up her stunning Round One win over Katsura Hinagiku with another convincing victory, this time at the expense of Miyanaga Saki. Mashiro Rima from Shugo Chara settled for third place.

***

Block E21
1st 652 votes | Tachibana Kanade (Tenshi) @ Angel Beats!
2nd 631 votes | Nagato Yuki @ The Disappearance of Suzumiya Haruhi
3rd 79 votes | Lisa @ The Sacred Blacksmith

Block F22
1st 636 votes | Shiina Mafuyu @ Seitokai no Ichizon
2nd 458 votes | Miyanaga Saki @ Saki
3rd 126 votes | Mashiro Rima @ Shugo Chara! series

Great, the match delivered. Gotta give credit to Yuki for making it closer than I expected. So yeah, if my memory serves me right this is the closest match so far, and fittingly so – Yuki passing the torch to Kanade, or something like that. I sure just hope she doesn’t pass the quarterfinal bad luck attached with it. Just feels strange that this match had significantly lower votes than that of Maria vs. Hisa. I thought this match would’ve produced more fanfare, but apparently not so. That at least somewhat hurts Kanade’s preseason tag as one of “favorites to win it all”. But we’ll see. That impending match against Yamada will be intriguing, at the very least.

Lots of doubts were also cleared on the other match – Mafuyu is for real. Speculators have her tagged as the one to win Block F now, but I still have my eyes on a certain character competing today. But still I continue to underestimate Mafuyu despite her accomplishments this year. Guess that’s something to do with her skewed prelim numbers more than any other thing but funny how things can change quickly. Maybe I should have noted better on Saki’s mediocre round one performance, but that’s how it goes. In the end Mafuyu with a convincing win, and that’s one step closer to impressing me.

So time to preview today’s rather predictable matches.

Yamada vs. Erika vs. Iwasawa is just asking for overkill. The latter two are overmatched based on numbers, but maybe Erika can just keep close. That’s the least I can ask because I love both Yamada and Erika and it would hurt to see one of them crushed. So yeah, Yamada has this easily, but anything less than 100 vote difference woud be okay with me.

Ritsu versus Hitagi is also painful for me, but gotta go with Ritsu (top 3 character in my list). But I just can’t see her clinching this because she’s like the least popular of the K-On core. Fortunately going out against my favorite to win Block F is not bad at all. So Hitagi has the edge in numbers, and it’s just funny that K-On’s getting owned by Bakemonogatari so far. Oh well, all I can hope for this one is an interesting match in the end. And yeah, that whoever wins impresses so they have a fighting chance to win the block, since the whoever the winner here will end up as my pick come Block Finals.

So yeah, while it may be predictable, today’s card is something for me to see since four of the characters on deck are at the very least top twenty material. Whatever happens, happens I guess.

4 thoughts on “En Taro Kanade!

  1. nissannut September 22, 2010 / 3:41 am

    Did you mention taro? I love taro-flavored boba milk tea!

    Great follow-up performance for Mafuyu’s after the big win over Hina.

    I’m glad to see Kanade move to Round 3, although Yuki would have been just as nice.

    Today, Yamada and Hitagi. Yamada, as you’ve said, is the overwhelming favorite. And the current unofficial votes show that.

    That’s good for you, frustra. Pick the one at the top of your list, even if it means against some you find pretty moe.

    But I will say this… I’ll pick Yamda over Ricchan any day. 😛

    • anonymous September 22, 2010 / 8:01 am

      I think he meant by Starcraft version of En Taro,
      Like En Taro Adun…

  2. Delta September 23, 2010 / 7:21 pm

    Glad I am not the only one who thought of Protoss Zealots with Kanade.

    Also, very nice posters and graphics, and thanks for the link, I’m slow to notice these sort of things. =)

    • frustra September 24, 2010 / 10:31 pm

      no problem, just spreading the Saimoe love, and yeah i enjoy making stuff like posters Saimoe-related, glad you liked them.

Leave a Reply

