This is Not the Year

Seitokai no Ichizon’s Shiina Mafuyu engineered the biggest upset of the Anime Saimoe Tournament 2010, defeating Hayate no Gotoku!’s Katsura Hinagiku as Round One of Saimoe resumed Monday. The anticipated match saw Mafuyu leading the rest of the match, which expectedly broke the record for votes received so far. Miria Marigold Mackenzie from Jewelpet Tinkle ranked third, followed by Mayoi Neko Overrun’s Umenomori Chise.

The Block E match saw Working!!’s Yamada Aoi put on a clinic against fellow competitors Ogasawara Akiko from Taishou Yakyuu Musume, Kyon’s Sister from Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu and K-On!’s Tachibana Himeko.

***

Block E05
1st 605 votes | Yamada Aoi @ Working!!
2nd 314 votes | Ogasawara Akiko @ Taishou Yakyuu Musume.
3rd 147 votes | Kyon’s sister @ The Disappearance of Suzumiya Haruhi
4th 89 votes | Hirasawa Yui’s classmate who sits next to her (Tachibana Himeko) @ K-ON!!

Block F05
1st 605 votes | Shiina Mafuyu @ Seitokai no Ichizon
2nd 564 votes | Katsura Hinagiku @ Hayate no Gotoku!!
3rd 87 votes | Miria Marigold Mackenzie @ Jewelpet Tinkle
4th 75 votes | Umenomori Chise @ Mayoi Neko Overrun!

Thoughts later. Sorry, you know me, as a Hinafag I need to get over this first. ;_;

PS: Prediction and Picks: Ranka and Saki for predictions, Erika and Kanata for picks.

===update===

Well, it would be an outright lie if I said I’m not disappointed with the results. Definitely worst case scenario in a personal standpoint happened here, because 1.) Hinagiku is my number one character, 2.) she had to lose at the first round, and 3.) she performed well in the preliminaries, which definitely makes it more painful.

But this is the way it goes. As I wrote in my preseason preview, I had the feeling that this is not the year for Hina either. And I already resigned myself to the fact that it might never be year, but it’s fun to believe. Hopes were raised anew when she performed in fantastic fashion in the prelims. So consequently, I figured that she’s gonna win a round or two, but not a first round knockout. Guess, instead of delaying the inevitable, it just had to happen early. And I’m not gonna take away anything from Mafuyu, she really earned it, and even got the foreign votes in her favor.

And Yamada winning is no certainly no surprise, and as one of my top characters, it’s cool to see her win.

So yeah, Hinagiku losing means Saimoe is just not the same for me (which I guess applies to everyone losing his/her top chara), but gotta soldier on. It’s quite funny that out of the seven girls in the banner and in my sig, the most important one is the only one not moving on to the second round. Quite a blow, but I’ll manage. So forgive me for that personal rant (this is a blog after all), and time to proceed to today’s matches:

I think this group is well-balanced, but I think it all comes down to Erika against Ranka. I’m rooting for the former, but I’m predicting the latter, because I think she performed better and MacrossF had “it” last year. Don’t know it will be the same this year, but no point in backing down now with my initial prediction. I hope I’m wrong though. Heh

As for the second match, Saki will pretty much style here although Kanata might be able to offer some resistance. Going with the former as my prediction, but Kanata definitely is my pick here. Anyway, fot the last 2 days, 2-2 in picks and predictions, bringing my total to 39-7 for predictions, and 20-25-1 in picks. Yes, that last number is reserved for those losses that really hurt. and yeah, not mad… just frustrated. lol.

To cap it off, I think this Saimoe has the chance of matching 2006 and 2007 in the epic scale. We’ve got the 1 point win, the huge upset and who knows what’s next in store? Well, I’m in here for the long haul, even though the true end for this Saimoe 2010 route might never come to pass *cough* bias *cough*. I’ve got more matches to look forward to, more materials to gather and *try* to create, and more coverage on the way. I hope for at least a good end. To arms!

10 thoughts on “This is Not the Year

  1. fyrebrick August 30, 2010 / 2:28 pm

    DAMN! I happy that Mafuyu won but that’s overshadowed by the fact Hinagiku had to lose to do so. Like I said I would be in pain no matter who won in that match

  2. Micchi August 30, 2010 / 4:27 pm

    A little bit surprising, but in the end I knew it would be a close match. Was a bit sad that I had to vote one over the other (ended up choosing Hina), so I’m glad I have the opportunity to support Mafuyu from now on. Remember, Mafuyu loves you.

  3. math4origami August 30, 2010 / 4:57 pm

    Zetsuboushita. Now I have to just keep rooting for Tenshi.

  4. Katz August 30, 2010 / 6:14 pm

    Hinagiku had her best time. Well, Mafuyu I’m glad I voted for you.

  5. Gotank August 30, 2010 / 8:26 pm

    Excellent. I couldn’t be happier that Mafuyu won.

  6. Doughnut Gunso August 30, 2010 / 11:18 pm

    It really didn’t look good for Hina to be knocked out in the first round, so I have to admit that I am now very unhappy…

    Still, her vote count wasn’t really that bad. All I could say is, if 560 votes were not enough to win, then it’s not enough.

    Thanks to those who voted for Hina, and congratulations to Mafuyu and Yamada!

  7. nissannut August 31, 2010 / 3:04 am

    You know, that match poster that showed Hina in pleasurable pain from some H-doujin was good foreshadowing of the result. First, I hate the picture. It’s such a terrible way to depict Hina.

    Next, congrats to Mafuyu, Seitokai no Ichizon, others who felt that Hina was a threat to their favorites, and the ones already hatin’ on Hina (slang form, so don’t think it’s actual hate or contempt) for this result. Well deserved.

    I don’t feel as shocked by this as Kana’s upset of Mio last year. Somehow, I got the feeling there was a sense of jadedness towards Hina. Still, as I said yesterday, I do feel that Mafuyu is very appealing and very deserving of the win and advancing.

    Now, I’m going to gloat about how great Yamada’s win was. I’m so happy for her. 605 votes was very impressive. The girl who is looking to fit in and feel like part of a loving environment got lots of love yesterday. Yes! I just love her in Working!! I can’t get enough, really. I wish the break was today instead of 2 days ago so I can relish this victory.

    Anyway, today’s matches are not great, but still good for me to participate in. My votes are for Houjouin Seika and Sawako, but I don’t mind Kanata winning.

    Well, shit! I wrote quite a bit for this post… I need to stop. Right now.

  8. uis_kana August 31, 2010 / 5:20 am

    Oh well frustra cheer up… I know u very frustrated every year when Hina lost. Compare to me that ur no.1 every year is same, i envy u how loyal u are. (That because my sakuranbo not in this year saimoe). Anyway i glad how Yamada perform but Yamada not tested against powerful opponent like Tenshi. I hope Yamada can win block E but Tenshi won is okay too. But like u said, saimoe is dif when ur no.1 support lost. Oh well i just need a hope that Yamada can do it her best until the end.

    • nissannut August 31, 2010 / 11:44 am

      You’re a real nice person…

  9. frustra August 31, 2010 / 3:47 pm

    yeah, nissannut, uis is a bro. and uis, thanks for the condolences. one thing i am proud of is my LOYALTY for Hina, no matter what.

    and thanks to everyone for sharing your thoughts, may you be a Hina fan or a Mafuyu fan.

    re: Yamada, i have high hopes for her, and i feel she’s gonna reach at least the block final.

    re: anon match poster – they just roll that way, and admittedly, i’m not a fan of that poster as well. there may have been better ways for that.

Leave a Reply

