Kyou Books Slot to Second Round

Clannad’s Fujibayashi Kyou overwhelmed her opponents and easily won her First Round matchup as Anime Saimoe Tournament 2010 continued Saturday. She meets Saki’s Amae Koromo and To Aru Kagaku no Railgun’s Shirai Kuroko next round. Finishing second to Kyou was Durarara!’s Sonohara Anri, followed by Charlotte Hazelrink from Princess Lover! and Ogata Rina from White Album.

Konori Mii helped Railgun exact a measure of revenge against Saki as she topped Miyanaga Teru, who settled for third place. Trailing Mii was Sheryl Nome from Macross Frontier, and Liechtenstein from Hetalia Axis Powers.

***

Block C06
1st 213 votes | Konori Mii @ To Aru Kagaku no Railgun
2nd 144 votes | Sheryl Nome @ Macross Frontier the Movie: Itsuwari no Utahime
3rd 115 votes | Miyanaga Teru @ Saki
4th 93 votes | Liechtenstein @ Hetalia Axis Powers

Block D06
1st 258 votes | Fujibayashi Kyou @ Clannad: Another World, Kyou Chapter
2nd 122 votes | Sonohara Anri @ Durarara!!
3rd 98 votes | Charlotte Hazelrink @ Princess Lover!
4th 79 votes | Ogata Rina @ WHITE ALBUM

Uh yeah, zzz. Easy round was easy. 2-0 (26-4) in predictions, but 1-1 (14-16) in picks because Sheryl lost a matchup she would have won if this was 2009. Nothing really much to say in this matchup, and noticeably and obviously the vote totals also took a nosedive. People were probably still exhausted from yesterday’s thriller. As for Kyou, it was a decent performance, but not the spectacular romp that would have happened if this was 2008. Yeah, relevancy goes by past in Saimoe (unless you’re from Hayate). Back to Kyou, I hope she does better than that against Kuroko and Koromo, but as they say, it’s time to pass the torch to the next generation. As for the other match, Railgun sure did serve revenge, but the damage was done.

Although Teru lost, Saki will look to sweep its next three matches in Block C, and the first of those come today with last year’s semifinalist on deck. And this match will look to be a massacre as Saki looks to catch Hayate on the all-time wins list. This one is easy to predict of course, with Captain set to style, much to my sadness since Kisaragi is in this match, who happens to be one of my top-tiered character moe-wise this year. But yeah I’m fine with Captain too. Again, prediction: Mihoko, Pick: Kisaragi.

The other match will be probably go out with Hiro styling against three second prelim qualifiers. Although I love Hidamari Sketch , Celty gets my vote here. Too bad, she doesn’t have much of a chance against Hiro. I wonder if 2ch will go for the lulz again and propel Hatena Yousei to victory, I guess not. A-tan may have a good portion of HnG fans, but not all have read the manga (including me), so it won’t be enough for her also. So yeah, HnG Season 3 where? Prediction: Hiro, Pick: Celty.

Surely it will be hard to equal the Hisa-Uiharu match again, and the next one looming in the horizon is Tenshi vs. Index, and Yui vs. Mahiru on the 26th. But still, gotta get through this string of Saki stylings first.

4 thoughts on “Kyou Books Slot to Second Round

  1. nissannut August 21, 2010 / 3:52 pm

    I managed to download all of CLANNAD. Now I just need to watch some of it… if I get time.

    Glad to see that Mii won. She’s definitely one of my favorite Railgun girls, with Mikoto and Ruiko still to come.

    Like you, I’m going the Celty in group D. I’ll need some time to think about GA’s Kisa-chan because I need to catch up on Hanamaru Youchien to see Hinagiku.

    Not a great day for Saimoe matches, but it definitely gets me into watching other series.

    • frustra August 21, 2010 / 3:59 pm

      well yeah, that’s one of the main goals of Saimoe. i ended up watching fine anime due to Saimoe, most notably Aria, Kaleido Star, Rozen Maiden, Nanoha A’s and the like.

      Mii is alright, although on top of Raildex girls for me would be Saten->Index->Biribiri.

      Hanamaru Youchien is fine, although the best girl there has already been eliminated (Hiiragi ;_;)

      And of course, you know how much I love GA. Pity they did not do well as I originally thought they would.

  2. math4origami August 21, 2010 / 4:22 pm

    “Hayate” or Nanoha or Shana. I don’t think they seem as likely to take 1st, but they still go far for their age.

  3. nissannut August 21, 2010 / 4:33 pm

    Kaleido Star… One of my favorites. I guess that is Naegino Sora in your AS avatar.

    Railgun girls for me: Ruiko -> Biri Biri -> Mii

    Yeah, I like Hiiragi a lot too. She’s by far the best up to episode 5. Episode 6 is next for me, and I get to see Tsucchi’s sister. Something about an adult’s younger, high school/middle school sister gets me interested.

    I hope GA gets decent representation, but it’ll be hard for me to vote for them if they are matched up with other girls that I really want to vote for.

Leave a Reply

