Alpha Strike

Sora no Otoshimono maintained its perfect Anime Saimoe Tournament 2010 run as Ikaros scored a huge win against Bakemonogatari’s Hanekawa Tsubasa as Round One action continued Monday. Ikaros led throughout the match, in what could be considered an upset as Tsubasa had the backing of a powerful faction while also finishing ahead of Ikaros during the Preliminary Round. Finishing at third and fourth respectively were Anyamal Tantei Kiruminzoo’s Mikogami Riko, and Koihime Musou’s Houtou.

Also victorious was Hayate no Gotoku!’s Saginomiya Isumi, who easily dispatched Katanagatari’s Togame, Senjou no Valkyria’s Alicia Melchiott, and Daichi Kaoru from Ladies versus Butlers.

***

Block A07
1st 254 votes | Ikaros @ Sora no Otoshimono
2nd 211 votes | Hanekawa Tsubasa @ Bakemonogatari
3rd 80 votes | Mikogami Riko @ Anyamal Tantei Kiruminzoo
4th 77 votes | Houtou Shigen (Hinari) @ Shin Koihime†Musou series

Block B07
1st 265 votes | Saginomiya Isumi @ Hayate no Gotoku!!
2nd 160 votes | Togame @ Katanagatari
3rd 115 votes | Alicia Melchiott @ Senjou no Valkyria
4th 84 votes | Daichi Kaoru @ Ladies versus Butlers!

Wow, didn’t see this coming honestly. Not that Tsubasa lost, but the fact that she did convincingly. So congrats to Ikaros, and to Sora no Otoshimono because their two aces are gonna have an uphill battle in the second round against Yui and Nadeko, and potentially Nagi, respectively. Also, Ikaros’ win ends the perfect run of Bakemonogatari so far in the tournament. And also, this is the first notable prelim result reversal. I guess this is also a precautionary measure from Bakemonogatari to ensure that their characters don’t get creamed by a split vote against Nagi, should Araragi Karen eke out a win in today’s match. But I doubt it. In the end, I can only speculate that Nadeko carried Tsubasa to a higher vote count than what she can actually do against Ikaros.

On the other hand, Isumi styled with a 100-point cushion, nothing remarkable, but a solid performance nonetheless. Poor Alicia. And with the outcome of these matches, I dropped to 10-3 in predictions, and 7-7 in votes. A huge dropoff in last year’s (where i started 29-3 in predictions iirc)

Anyway with that out of the way, let’s proceed for the next roster of matches, which I find quite underwhelming, tbh. Of course we can’t have all-star matches everyday.

Okay, this one may not have star power, but I expect this one to be good. And yeah, hard to predict too. I am not really convinced by the power of the double Bakemonogatari vote for this day, and Karen got that much votes in the prelims because she was in one of the weakest groups in the prelims. On the other hand, Minami had to deal with a superstar showdown with Nagi and Hitagi leading the way. So the counts may be deceiving, going with character power here, so Minami is my pick, as well as my prediction. BakaTest may have had a disappointing prelim performance, and did not meet my preseason expectations, but I don’t want to count them out (yet).

As for the second match, it’s pretty much the Shinobu show, and this is where the Karen assist will come into play. I think though that Ryuubi and Ryouko will do better than what their amount of votes indicate since it was a tough first prelim group that they got into.  We’ll also find out if the latest Hirano Aya fallout will have an effect on this one. In any case, Ryuubi and Ryouko can snatch this match out of nowhere, and I’m not ruling out that possibility. Still predicting Shinobu, nonetheless. And yeah, my pick is a hopeless cause, I’m just hoping that she doesn’t get destroyed that much. Rooting for Nodoka.

Today’s lineup doesn’t have big names, so expect vote totals to decline further, but again, i don’t really mind that. /post

One thought on “Alpha Strike

  1. nissannut August 9, 2010 / 9:26 pm

    I dropped Sora no Otoshimono because it wasn’t really my kind of show. I didn’t get to see Nymph, and Ikaros was a bit boring to start off. So, I also did not got to see Ikaros develop. I’m clearly missing something here. However, I really like Sohara Mitsuki.

    Isumi, despite her poor sense of direction, found her way to Round 2!

    Today, I’m going with one of my favorite characters of Winter 2010, Shimada Minami. For the other match… I don’t know yet. Ryouko was great in Haruhi-chan.

    I don’t know how true this is, but with Hirano Aya’s supposed love life exposed, among other things, I wonder how well her characters will do. For today, it will be the ever silent loli-vampire, Shinobu.

Leave a Reply

